

DAIRY AMERICAN

SCIENCE

ASSOCIATION

2441 Village Green Place, Champaign IL 61822 217/356-5146 FAX: 217/398-4119 adsa@assochq.org

April 20, 2011

Victor Cabrera University of Wisconsin - Madison 1675 Observatory Dr. Madison, WI 53706

PRESIDENT James Linn (11) University of Minnesota St. Paul. MN linnx002@umn.edu

VICE PRESIDENT Bob Roberts (11) Pennsylvania State University University Park, PA rfr3@psu.edu

PAST PRESIDENT Phil Tong (11) Cal Poly State University San Luis Obispo, CA ptong@calpoly.edu

PAST PAST PRESIDENT Donald C. Beitz (11) Iowa State University Ames IA dcbeitz@iastate.edu

TREASURER Alois F. Kertz (12) ANDHIL, LLC. St. Louis, MO andhil@swbell.net

EDITOR-IN-CHIEF Roger Shanks (12) University of Illinois Urbana, IL rdshanks@illinois.edu

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Peter Studney 2441 Village Green Place Champaign, IL 61822 peters@assochq.org

Dear Dr. Cabrera:

It is a pleasure for me to notify you that the selection committee has named you to receive the ADSA Foundation Scholar Award in Dairy Production. Presentation of this award will be Tuesday, July 12, 2011 during the ADSA Awards Program beginning at 5:00 p.m. at the Marriott New Orleans, in New Orleans, LA.

As the 2011 winner, you and your guest are invited to a dinner on Tuesday evening prior to the awards program. The dinner will be at the Marriott New Orleans, also. Assembly of those attending will be at 5:00 p.m., at which time you will have an opportunity to meet with the donor's representative. Staged photographs of the presentation of the awards administered by ADSA will also be taken at this time.

We will need a high quality, 300 dpi high-resolution photograph of you, as well as a few photos of you at work, in a JPEG or TIF file format, on or before Friday, April 29, 2011. These photos will be used during the awards ceremony as part of a PowerPoint presentation. Please send the photos electronically to carat@assochq.org. We also need a completed W-9 form. The W-9 form is attached to this e-mail.

Dr. Albert De Vries (devries@ufl.edu), Chairperson of the selection committee, has been asked to prepare a citation to be read prior to the presentation. If you have any biographical material that would be helpful in preparing the citation, please forward this electronically to the chair at your earliest convenience. Additionally, your chair may contact you in order to facilitate the preparation of these citations.

We ask that very limited discussion be held concerning your selection, as we would like to withhold the names of the winners until the first day of the meeting. Names of winners will be posted in the registration area of the convention center.

We look forward to seeing you in New Orleans. Everything you need to know about the Joint Annual Meeting can be found at the website: http://adsa.asas.org/meetings/2011/.

Sincerely,

Peter Studney

ADSA Executive Director

Albert De Vries, 2011 Award Chair cc:

DIRECTORS Ric Grummer (11) University of Wisconsin Madison, WI

rgrummer@wisc.edu

Scott Rankin (11) University of Wisconsin Madison, WI sarankin@wisc.edu

Karen Plaut (12) Purdue University West Lafayette, IN kplaut@purdue.edu Joe Schlesser (12) US FDA Schaumburg, IL jschless@cfsan.fda.gov Rich Erdman (13) University of Maryland College Park, MD erdman@umd.edu

Dave McCoy (13) Dairy Management, Inc. Rosemont, II. david.mccoy@rosedmi.com